Reviews

I Heart Makeup Golden Bar Palette | Review and Swatches!

Hey! During my breaks at Uni I often go into the shopping centre near by and end up wondering into every makeup store there is (my bank account does not appreciate it). I went into Superdrug and found an I Heart Makeup counter which I’ve never seen before so obviously I had to get something. I Heart Makeup are a sister brand with Makeup Revolution and Freedom Makeup, all owned by TAM beauty. Their products are known for being good quality dupes for high end makeup.

The ‘chocolate bar’ palettes from I Heart Makeup are dupes for the Too Faced chocolate bar palettes, however the Golden Bar is just a brand new palette made by I Heart Makeup, not duping anything (as far as I’m aware). The colours are so gorgeous so I couldn’t turn it down, and it was the last one there!

img_4420golden-bar

As you can see the palette has no matte shades, so I can’t use it by itself. I have, however, found myself picking it up on a daily basis to add a lid colour for any makeup I’ve done. It may be all shimmers, but it’s so versatile.

img_4426

The first row-

Collection: The perfect white shimmer shadow. This is perfect for highlighting or intensifying a lid colour.

Ribbon: A light pink shimmer, needs a bit more work to get the pigment as good as the others but if you spray your brush with a setting spray or even use your finger, this shadow is just as good as the rest.

Edible: A muted shimmer brown shade. This is the shade I’ve been reaching for most days and it matches pretty much any eyeshadow look I’ve done so far.

Tablet: One of the shimmer gold shadows. This golden shade is a little darker than the other golds but still beautiful.

Wrapped: A beautiful red toned brown shimmer shadow. Perfect for intensifying the outer third of your eyelid.

img_4427

The second row-

Wrapper: An orangey-brown shimmer shadow. This works beautifully with red shadows for a smoky eye.

Foil: Another one of the golden shadows. This is definitely a brighter gold to Tablet, but works so well when doing a halo eye look.

Golden: By FAR my favourite shadow of this whole palette. The pigmentation and how it transfers onto the eyes is insane. Unbelievable for a drugstore shadow.

Bar: This olive-y brown shadow is so different to anything I have in my collection. I think this would work so nicely if you have blue/green eyes.

Box: A muted khaki shimmer shadow. I love this shade as it’s easy to work with but still adds something a bit more unique to your makeup look.

Block: A dark brown shimmer shadow. Again, perfect for intensifying the outer third or for creating an intense smoky eye.

img_4428

The third row-

Gift: A lighter brown shadow. This shadow is perfect for an everyday eye look.

Limited: Again, I love this shade. Its like a musky-pink shadow and when applied using a damp brush, looks so beautiful on the eyes. This shadow would be perfect for brown eyes!

Cocoa: A deep red shimmer shadow. This is perfect to create a red smoky eye, especially since we’re nearing the end of winter.

Beans: Another brown shimmer shadow. This shadow isn’t really a necessity as there are other shadows in the palette that are similar.

Chocolatier: A light nude shadow. I have to work a bit harder to get the pigment to show up on me on this colour but I think that’s due to my pale skin and how well it matches. This would definitely look beautiful on darker skin tones.

img_4424

Overall, I love this palette. It’s such good quality for a drugstore palette and retails at only £9! Considering there’s 16 shadows in here, thats only £1.78 (roughly) per shadow. The palette does also come with a brush but I threw it away because it didn’t work that well for me.

If you can get your hands on any I Heart Makeup palettes then I would definitely recommend you try to! I certainly wasn’t disappointed. I have no bad points to say about this palette, other than the shade names, bit unimaginative haha.

Thank you so much for reading!

Rach x

9 thoughts on “I Heart Makeup Golden Bar Palette | Review and Swatches!

  1. You are three names are completely unimaginative apart from the last 3 and Edible.. The shades look too Good though.. waiting for it desperately to come to my country

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right the names are completely unimaginative apart from the last 3 and Edible.. The shades look too Good though.. waiting for it desperately to come to my country

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

