Reviews

Violet Voss Holy Grail Palette | Review & Swatches

Hey! I am so excited to be able to show you guys the swatches of this palette. It is literally BEAUTIFUL. If you love your warm tones and your burgundy shadows then you will definitely love this.

hg-1hg-2

Sorry for the slight blur on the second photo, my camera was not focusing for the life of me! Anyway, lets talk about the packaging. I’m pretty sure Violet Voss recently updated their packaging from a simple black to this gorgeous holographic effect with an ombre fade from black into red. It is such a simple yet elegant packaging. The palette also includes a huge mirror, perfect for travelling.

The palette itself includes 20 shadows: 8 matte, 8 shimmers and 4 foiled type shadows (I think that’s what they’re called, correct me if i’m wrong!). It retails at £43, making it £2.15 per shadow.

Now for the swatches!

hg-4

As you can see, Crystal and Ploof are shimmer shadows but they literally match my skin tone so don’t show up very well unless I have a darker shadow in my crease, or unless I use my setting spray first. Thanks A Latte (loving the name) is a matte shadow and also matches my skin tone so I’ve been using this as a setting shadow. Transition and Hashtag are perfect shadows for the crease, especially for a warm toned smoky eye.

hg-5

This row only has one matte, Bestie, but I am in LOVE with the other shadows. Toffee is a definite favourite. I just cannot get over the pigmentation and intensity of these shadows. My only con for this row is the similarity between Awesome Sauce and Toffee, I don’t feel as if both are a necessity.

hg-7

This row contains one of absolute favourites from the palette, So Jelly. In the pan it looks to be just a normal light pink shimmer shadow, but it translates on the lids as a holographic pink (if you know what I mean). I have nothing like this in any of my other palettes! On Fleek is also another beauty, a gorgeous rose/red shimmer shadow which really compliments blue/green eyes.

hg-6

My favourite row of the whole palette. Cranberry Splash and Wine N Dine work together PERFECTLY for a red smoky eye. Teddy Bear is also a gorgeous red-toned brown, very different to the other browns in the palette.

hg-3

Overall, I am in love with this palette (I know I say it every time but this one is literally to die for). I will use every single shadow in this palette and create so many looks. I am a sucker for my warm tones, especially anything that involves reds, so this palette had to make its way into my collection.

If you’re on the fence about buying this palette, DO IT. I can promise you you won’t regret it. A lot of people compare it to the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette, which I do agree with. However, as beautiful as the Modern Renaissance is, it doesn’t quite have as many red toned shadows as the Holy Grail. I still love both just as much but that’s just my take on it.

What’s your thoughts on the palette?

I’ve also decided to set up an Instagram and Twitter account for my blog as I’m loving the feeling of community and wanted to expand this further. I’m hoping to be as active on both as I can! I would be so appreciative if you could give them a follow!

Twitter: @rachaellbeauty

Instagram: @rachaellouisebeauty

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

8 thoughts on “Violet Voss Holy Grail Palette | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

