Reviews

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer | Dupe?

Hey! I’m here again with another possible dupe product, The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer vs Primark’s Contour & Glow. If you saw in my recent haul post (you can view that here), then you would’ve saw that I bought one of Primark’s answers to a contour kit. Little did I know I would find this.

highhigh 2

This is the side by side comparison. When I opened up the Primark one I noticed how similar the two were in shade and tone.

Mary-Lou Manizer is a champagne highlight, perfect for pale skin as it doesn’t look too dark. It’s quite subtle at first but you can build it up for more of a glow. You can see how much I love my Mary-Lou, I’ve almost hit pan!

high 3

The Primark one is also a champagne colour and is similar in how subtle it is to begin with, but how easily it can be built up. I first used the Primark one yesterday for my inner corner and brow highlight, initially. It was then when I noticed how similar it looked to my Mary-Lou. I mean, I’ve used my Mary-Lou a lot (as you can tell) so I was quick to notice the similarities. I then continued to use the Primark one for the tops of my cheeks and it was then that I felt it confirmed the similar-ness of the two.

high 5high 4

As you can see from the swatches, they are very similar. I feel as if Mary-Lou Manizer is slightly darker than Primark. In terms of consistency, there’s very little difference. Both of these products are so smooth to apply, blending like an absolute dream.

I also feel Mary-Lou Manizer is slightly more pigmented, but only the slightest bit. As for longevity of the products, I have only worn the Primark one once properly. I did my makeup at 12 midday and took it off about half ten that night, and I have to admit, I was impressed. It wasn’t as noticeable as Mary-Lou Manizer looks after a full day, but that’s to be expected from the price difference. I still need to play around with the Primark one to fully test the longevity of the product. The only downside I’ve found with Mary-Lou is the packaging! The pan in mine is basically falling out so I’m scared to take it travelling with me. Has this happened to anyone else?

As I said about price difference, The Balm Mary Lou-Manizer retails at different prices in most shops (daft, I know) but it’s around the £15-£20 mark. The Primark one is £3.50, and you get a contour shade (which I was also impressed with).

It’s not an exact dupe, but it’s as close as I’ve EVER found. And for the price difference, I don’t think it’s a bad call giving it a go!

What do you think?

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer | Dupe?

Leave a Reply

