Reviews

MAC Warm Neutral Palette | Review & Swatches

Hey! So, today’s blog is about my OLDEST palette in my collection. MAC’s Warm Neutral palette was the first ever high end palette I ever owned. When I was first getting into makeup, I was quite naive. Naive in the sense that I thought for a product to be ‘good’, it had to be from a high end brand.

mac 2mac

I mean, how could I not want this palette? The colours are gorgeous! I was drawn in by that gorgeous red toned shadow on the first row, and that’s when my love for red shadows began.

First off, let’s talk about the packaging. I absolutely love the packaging. In my opinion, the palette looks so ‘classy’ (if a palette can look classy) with the magnetic fastening and the clear front case with MAC’s logo on. The eyeshadow pans themselves allow for a decent amount of product for your money.

mac 6mac 7mac 5

Now for the eyeshadows themselves. These descriptions are taken from the MAC website itself:

  • Hey: Metallic coral (Veluxe Pearl)
  • Warm Breeze: Pastel coral (Satin)
  • Gingersnap: Deep rosy pink (Frost)
  • Dark Brew: Deep chocolate w/ pink pearl (Velvet)
  • Dance in the Dark: Dark brown (Matte)
  • Brule: Soft creamybeige (Satin)
  • Vanilla Extract: Soft warm yellow beige (Frost)
  • Honey Lust: Bronzedipped peach (Lustre)
  • Amber Lights: Peachybrown w/ shimmer (Frost)
  • Saddle: Golden orange brown (Matte)
  • Lemon Tart: Metallic gold (Veluxe Pearl)
  • Creative Copper: Frosted Gold (Lustre)
  • Butterfudge: Dirty mocha w/ gold pearl (Satin)
  • Divine Decadence: Soft bronze (Velvet)
  • Unwind: Dirty olive (Veluxe Pearl)

I have to say, I’m not impressed. I mean, I know MAC are meant to offer great quality eyeshadows but these are such a let down! I mean, I’ve never (personally) heard of a “Veluxe Pearl” eyeshadow, it just feels like they’re trying to be fancy but it comes at a cost.  I expected these eyeshadows to be absolutely mind-blowing in swatches and on the eyes, but in all honesty, they’re far from it.

mac 1

In my opinion the shadows “Hey”, “Warm Breeze”, “Brule”, “Vanilla Extract” and “Lemon Tart” are way too similar. They all have a slightly different undertone but in all honesty, you don’t need all of them. To me, it’s wasted space where another transition shadow could’ve been. There’s also a dark brown, almost black shadow called “Dance In The Dark” and as you can see from the swatch, there’s hardly any pigment to it at all.

I paid £65 for this palette! I know, I don’t know what I was thinking. The price has now been lowered to £49.50 which is still ridiculous for the quality. Makeup Revolution eyeshadows are SO SO SO much better than this, and they’re so inexpensive. If you were to buy individual MAC eyeshadow pans, they retail for about £10 each, so in that sense this palette should’ve cost £150 through eyeshadows alone, but it’s so not worth it. I do have a couple of individual MAC eyeshadows and I don’t rate them at all. You can get much better quality in the Freedom £2 individual eyeshadows.

Overall, I wouldn’t bother with this palette if you’re thinking about it. I was so disappointed when I tried it. The only reason I still have it is because it was my first ever high end palette, and for £65, I’ve tried my best to love it, but I just can’t. I read so many good reviews before I bought it so maybe it’s just my palette that’s bad?

That’s it for this post! What’s your thoughts on the palette?

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “MAC Warm Neutral Palette | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

