Reviews

Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette | Dupe?

Hey! So, if you saw my most recent haul then you would’ve saw the Technic Highlighting kit that I bought. I primarily bought it because of its similarities to the Sleek Solstice palette so I thought I would give a review on the both.

sleeksleek 2

First of all, let me start by saying how surprised I was at this little palette. This was £1.99 on Fragrance Direct so I wasn’t really expecting much but I was honestly so pleasantly surprised. If you like a subtle, but build able highlight, than this will definitely work for you. It comes complete with 2 cream highlights (3g) and 2 powder highlights (4g). The only downside to this palette is the packaging. It’s only made of plastic and not very good plastic at that.

sleek 4sleek 3

The sleek one is absolutely gorgeous. The gold packaging is so aesthetically pleasing and the shades of the highlighters themselves, I can’t get over them. They are so pigmented and make for such beautiful highlights. Just like the Technic one, this also has two cream highlights and 2 powder highlights.

sleek 5

These are the palettes side by side. As you can see, they are quite similar. The obvious difference is the intensity of the highlighters themselves. As you can see with the sleek palette, the purple and orange shades are definitely more noticeable as these shades than the Technic palette. I also feel like this translates in the swatches.

sleek 7sleek 8sleek 9sleek 10

As you can see from the swatches, I feel as if Ecliptic and Hemisphere, the two cream highlights, are the most comparable. I do think that both palettes are incredibly pigmented but the Sleek palette show the purple and orange toned highlights a lot better than the Technic ones.

In all honesty, I think I prefer the Technic one. The Sleek palette is a bit too dark on my skin tone, but because of Technic’s lack of ‘colour’ if that’s the word, I’m able to wear all 4 highlights. Don’t get me wrong, the Sleek palette is absolutely stunning, but too dark on my skin!

sleek 6

I will say though, the Sleek one does last longer on the face than the Technic one but for £1.99, I don’t mind topping up if I need to.

What are your thoughts on the palettes?

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette | Dupe?

Leave a Reply

