Make Up

Dramatic Black & Glitter Smoky Eye | Morphe 35k

Hey! So for today’s post I was feeling rather dramatic. I wanted to play around with my Morphe 35k palette as I use it so often but never think to feature it. It is such a good everyday, all-rounder palette, perfect if you’re just starting out with makeup!

black 3black 4

I decided to go for a real dramatic eyeshadow look and included some glitter! This look is incredibly easy to recreate (I promise). Morphe eyeshadows are some of my favourite, beautifully pigmented and so affordable.

black 5

I started by priming my eyelids using Urban Decay Primer Potion in original and set using #1. I then used a fluffy blending brush and went in with #2 in my crease. I buffed this out quite a bit as I wanted the shadow to be dispersed across my lid. I then kept with the same brush and went in #3, but keeping this blending quite low down, allowing for that gradient effect between this and the initial transition colour.

I then picked up a flat shader brush and went in with #4 all over the lid. Every time I applied more shadow, I went in with my fluffy blending brush that I used before to blend the crease and lid together. I kept building this shadow up until I was happy with the pigment.

Now for the glitter! I decided to use my Collection Glam Crystal liner in 4 Hustle, a gorgeous dark silver glitter with speckles of the rainbow running through it. I applied this onto the centre of the lid and blended out using my finger. To ‘set it’, I went in with #5, again using my finger, and just patted this on top very lightly. By applying a shadow on top of the glitter, it stops the glitter transferring onto the crease.

To finish off the eyelid, I decided to line my eye using my liquid liner. I didn’t wing this out, however. This just helps the false lashes blend in.

To smoke out the look, I went in with a mixture of #3 and #4 on a small tapered brush and ran this across my lower lash line. To blend the darker shadows, I went in with #2 on the same brush and buffed this all out until I was happy with the look. I then used my kohl eyeliner pencil by W7 in black to line my water line and tight line. To highlight my inner corner and brow bone, I used #6, a gorgeous champaign shadow and to finish off the entire eye look, I applied my mascara and added falsies!

black

I was so happy with how this turned out. I’ve had a look like this in mind for ages but I’ve never got around to doing it. As I said above, Morphe eyeshadows are some of my absolute favourites. A little really does go a long way! They’ve just released a new 35R palette which I NEED to get my hands on. As for using black eyeshadows, don’t be scared of them! I always start with a little and build up, as my mom always says, it’s easy to add more but difficult to take away!

black 2

I always mess up when it comes to using glitter, that’s why I tend to go for my Collection Glam Crystal liners. Don’t get me wrong, using actual glitter is so fun but it can be really messy and time consuming. If you’re after an alternative then try these out, or any glitter liner for that sake. I’ve only ever tried the Collection ones as they’re so inexpensive but I do have my eyes on the Urban Decay ones!

That’s it for this post. I hope it made sense and that it’s easy to follow.

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

4 thoughts on “Dramatic Black & Glitter Smoky Eye | Morphe 35k

  1. Love this eye look! It’s not a super harsh I like that. Super pretty. You always inspire me. 😊 I have a request… would you be willing a do a “soft natural” look with the ABH Modern Renaissance palette? If possible? 😬

    XOXO Anna 💋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

