Make Up

Red & Glitter Dramatic Smoky Eye | ABH Modern Renaissance & Violet Voss Holy Grail

Hey! So, as you can tell from the extremely long, over-worded title, I’m doing quite a dramatic look for today’s post. I decided to use some of my favourite reds and glitter, using two of my favourite palettes.

red glit 1

This look is super dramatic for me, way out of my comfort zone. I wanted to be more experimental with makeup and so that’s what I’ve tried to do. I also decided to use the two palettes because even though they are similar, both have something that the other palette doesn’t and for this look, I wanted a bit of both.

red glit

As always, I started by priming my eyelids using my Maybelline Anti-age concealer and set using Thanks A Latte from the Holy Grail palette. For my initial transition shadow, I used Transition and buffed this into my crease using a fluffy blending brush from Zoeva. As always, I have a spare blending brush on hand to buff the shadows after each step. Using the same brush as before, I went straight in with Wine N Dine. You only need to add a bit of product at a time with this shadow as it is quite intense, especially with how I’m using it today. I continued adding more shadow and blending out until I was happy with the over all look.

For the lid, I decided to create a cut crease effect but by just using shadows as these palettes are really pigmented. I took Tempera from the Modern Renaissance palette (WHICH I’VE JUST HIT PAN ON!) and layered this on the first half of my eyelid. I wanted this part of the lid to be a bit more of a nude-y colour, so using my finger, I packed on Buon Fresco.

Going back to my crease, I wanted the outer third to be slightly darker and more intense than the crease. To do this, I used a tapered blending brush and went in with Red Ochre, applying and blending until I was happy with the intensity.

I then went ahead and applied my liquid wing eyeliner using my Loreal Superliner. For the glitter, I used my all time favourite Collection Glam Crystals Liner in 3 Funk (the gold colour). I started by applying this above my liquid liner and simply following the liner as a guide. This was my initial plan, to just do a glitter wing liner. However, not everything always goes to plan and I actually slipped when I hiccuped (story of my life) and basically ruined the look, or so I thought. This is when I decided to create an almost half cut crease look using the liner, filling in the outer third of my eyelid. And I love how it turned out. When applying the glitter liner, make sure you allow it to dry before doing anything else. These liners are amazing so it doesn’t take long!

For my lower lash line, I used a mix of Red Ochre from the Modern Renaissance palette and Wine N Dine from the Holy Grail palette and ran these all the way along. I then applied my Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara and added false lashes. To finish the look off, I decided to use the glitter liner for my inner corner highlight.

Rest of the face:

Primer: Nivea Men Post Shave Balm

Foundation: Bourjois Paris City Radiance Foundation in 01 Rose Ivory

Concealer: Revlon Colourstay Concealer in 01 Fair and Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 1 Fair

Powder: Rimmel Match Perfection Loose Powder in 001 Transparent

Brows: Freedom Duo Brow Powder in Taupe and Maybelline BROWdrama in Transparent

Bronzer: W7 Honolulu Bronzer

Contour: PS Contour Kit

Blush: Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in 20 Lavish Mauve

Highlight: Lottie London Shimmer Squad in The Queen Bee and The Troublemaker

Lips: PS Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon in L.Brown (I think)

Setting Spray: New Look Setting Spray

That’s it for this post! I’m definitely going to try and be more creative with my makeup as I want my blog to vary a bit more than it does now. If anyone has any suggestions then I’d love to hear them.

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

7 thoughts on “Red & Glitter Dramatic Smoky Eye | ABH Modern Renaissance & Violet Voss Holy Grail

Leave a Reply

