Make Up

Mermaid Inspired Eyeshadow Look | MUA Tropical Oceana Palette

Hey! So, as you may know from my recent MUA Burning Embers review, you’ll know how much I adore that palette and because of that, I obviously had to go and buy the Tropical Oceana one too! This palette out of the two is much more colourful, filled with oranges, pinks, purples, greens and blues. I had to use this palette as soon as I got it and so I thought why not try and do a mermaid inspired look? I’ve always seen this floating about but I’ve never actually tried it for myself. I hope you enjoy!

mermaid 5

This was the finished look. I adore how it turned out and it’s a lot more wearable than I was expecting! The purple and blue shadows really compliment each other and I think this look would look absolutely stunning on someone with brown eyes.

mermaid

As always, I started by priming my eyelids using my Maybelline Anti-Age concealer and set using my face powder. For my initial crease colour, I went in with Rapture on a fluffy Zoeva brush and buffed this into my crease using wind wiper motions. This is an absolutely gorgeous light purple shadow, I have nothing that compares to this in my collection. When I was happy with how that looked, I then used another fluffy blending brush to buff in Delight, a darker purple, very very lightly into my crease. I didn’t take this as far up as the initial crease shade as I wanted there to be a slight gradient. This shadow is very pigmented so you only need a little at a time.

For my lid colour, I initially went in with Surf, a very light matte blue shadow, and packed this onto my eyelid using a flat shader brush. I then decided I wanted to have a shimmery lid colour so I went over this using Waves, a stunning shimmery blue shadow. As I knew I wanted to add lashes after, I lined my lash line using my Loreal Superliner, not winging it out.

At this point, I felt like the look was missing something, and I immediately knew I wanted to add some glitter. I recently managed to get my hands on a couple more shades from the Collection Glam Crystal Gel Liners and so I thought I would use those. For today’s look, I used the blue one, 5 Le Freak, and packed this onto my eyelid. I know I keep using these but I literally love them so much, especially if you’re too lazy (like me) for the mess of glitter.

For my lower lash line, I first went in with Nautical, a dark matte blue shadow, and then buffed this out using Rapture. I also decided to apply Nautical onto my waterline for a more intense effect. For my inner corner and brow bone highlight, I decided to use Sleek’s Solstice Highlight palette and I used the purpley-toned highlight, Hemisphere. To finish off the eyes, I added my Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara and applied false lashes.

mermaid 2

I’m really impressed with how these shadows blended together. Makeup Academy have definitely stepped up their game with these palettes! They are literally amazing for the price and I definitely need to do more looks using this palette.

That’s it for this post! I’m really enjoying stepping out of my comfort zone and creating looks that I wouldn’t usually go for.

If anyone would like a more in-depth post about the Tropical Oceana palette then just let me know in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Mermaid Inspired Eyeshadow Look | MUA Tropical Oceana Palette

Leave a Reply

