Make Up

Step By Step Drugstore/Affordable Prom Eyeshadow Tutorial

Hey! So, since Prom season is fast approaching, I thought I would start doing some looks to maybe inspire some of you. Obviously, these looks can be worn at any time, not just prom. For today’s look, I thought I would try and do a step by step picture guide to see if it helps when I’m explaining what I did. I also used only drugstore/affordable makeup in this look!

prom 3prom 4

This was the first look I came up with. I tried to do something quite neutral so that it would suit most dress colours. Obviously, if you feel like these colours don’t suit your dress then you can always switch up any product to suit it better. For this look, I used the MUA Burning Embers palette which is £8 and I used a shadow from the Freedom Innocent Collection palette which is usually £8 but it was on sale for £4 when I purchased it so keep an eye out!

prom

Step 1- You need to prime your eyelids for any eyeshadow look if you want it to last, especially for prom. For this, I used my Maybelline Erase Eye concealer and set using Match from the MUA Burning Embers palette. For the crease, I used the shade Kindling, a light matte brown shadow and buffed this into the crease until I was happy with the pigment. I also made sure to bring this under my lower lash line.

Step 2- In this step, I wanted to deepen the crease up for a more dramatic effect. To do this, I used Char, a dark matte brown and began by focusing this onto the outer third of my eyelid. I packed on the colour and then used a fluffy blending brush to blend it out, using the excess product to blend further into the crease. I repeated this step until I was happy with the pigmentation.

Step 3- This is where I used my Freedom Innocent Collection palette. This palette is the only drugstore palette I own that has a black shadow in it. But, obviously, any black shadow will do. Using a tapered blending brush, I focused this really into my outer third, packing this on top of the dark matte shadow we just applied, but not blending this as far into the crease as before. Remember- when using black shadows, a little can go a long way!

Step 4- Going back to the MUA Burning Embers palette, I used my finger to pack on Sparks, a silver shimmer shadow, and placed this onto the empty space of my eyelid. This is where I wanted to apply some glitter, I didn’t get to use any in my prom so I definitely wanted to include some in this look. I don’t have any glitter glue so I used my eyelash glue as a base and then applied Barry M Glitter Rush in 632 Snow Globe, packing this directly onto the silver shadow we just put down.

Step 5- After applying the glitter, I was left with quite a harsh line between the glitter and the black eyeshadow. To blend these together, I picked up the same brush I had used for the black shadow but without applying any more shadow, I used the excess shadow from the brush to lightly blend the two together.

Step 6- This step is completely optional but I knew I was going to apply some false lashes and so adding black liner across your lash line can really help blend your real lashes and false lashes together. You can obviously just use liquid eyeliner to apply the line, but I wanted to try something else. I’ve had the Maybelline 24Hr Colour Tattoo in 60-Timeless Black for the longest time but never really had much use for it. I decided to use this as my liner, applying it using an angled liner brush, as these cream shadows last forever on me.

prom 1

To finish the look off, I added my Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara and some falsies I bought off eBay. I would highly recommend to do your eyes first if you’re going to be using a pigment/glitter as it literally goes EVERYWHERE. I almost forgot to wipe the fallout off of my face when I was done.

Rest of the face:

Primer- Nivea Men Post Shave Balm

Foundation: Revlon Colourstay Foundation in 110 Ivory

Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 01 Fair

Powder: Rimmel Match Perfection Loose Powder in 001 Transparent

Brows: Freedom Duo Brow Powder in Taupe and Maybelline BROWdrama in Transparent

Bronzer: Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Bronzer in Golden Days

Contour: Primark PS Contour & Glow Palette

Blush: Makeup Revolution Ultra Blush Palette in Hot Spice

Highlighter: Primark PS Contour & Glow Palette

Lips: Rimmel Kate Lipstick in 45 and Loreal Cream Lipgloss in 110 I Got The Power

Setting Spray: New Look Setting Spray

prom 2

That’s it for this post! If I could do Prom again then this would definitely be a look that I personally would go for. As I said before, this look can also be worn for other events too, not just strictly Prom. I hope you like it!

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Step By Step Drugstore/Affordable Prom Eyeshadow Tutorial

Leave a Reply

