Make Up

Smoky Liner Eyeshadow Look | Urban Decay Naked Ultimate Basics

Hey! So, if you’ve been around my blog for a while, as in since the very very start, then you may remember this post. This was like the third post I did on my blog but after having a bit of a blog-over session, I realised I wasn’t happy with how it turned out so I thought I would give it another go and I’m much happier with how this one looks. Hope you enjoy!

SMOKY LINER 5SMOKY LINER 6

I love doing smoky liners, especially for those days were I want a wing but nothing too heavy/sharp. And what’s even better? They’re so easy to create, literally takes up no time at all.

SMOKY LINER 2

(PLEASE Ignore my eyelashes! They’re in such a state so I’m trying my best to avoid lashes for a while, but I know it won’t last.) As always, I started by priming my eyelids using my Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original and set using Nude from the palette. As I knew I was doing a wing with eyeshadow, I always add tape to the sides of my eyelids to create a guide and that sharp edge. To make sure I get the tape even, I always just follow the natural shape of my lid. Use your waterline as a guide, and add the tape as if you were extending it.

For my crease colour, the only crease colour, I went in with Tempted on a fluffy blending brush from Zoeva and buffed this well into my crease using wind-wiper motions. For my lid colour, I used Blow on my finger and packed this all over the lid.

Now for the fun part. Using a small tapered brush from Zoeva, I started by using the tape as a guide and LIGHTLY applying Blackjack as if I were creating a wing liner. Remember to keep your initial shadow quite close to the tape and your lash line as we’re going to smoke this out later. It’s a constant back and forth game with this look, but it is worth it. After I had finished applying the shadow along the tape and as close to my upper lash line as I could get, I grabbed my Tarte fluffy blending brush and started lightly buffing the black shadow to create that ‘smoke’ effect. Whenever I felt like I had took away too much shadow, I would use the tapered blending brush and add more black shadow and repeat this until I was happy with the turn out.

To finish the look off, I removed the tape to reveal that sharp edge. I then added my Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara and highlighted my inner corner and brow bone using my Lottie London Shimmer Quad (I think that’s the name).

SMOKY LINER

And that’s the finished eyeshadow look! Whenever I use tape, I always do my eyes first and then continue onto the face just so I don’t remove any base makeup by adding the tape later. Obviously this look can be created using any eyeshadow palette, drugstore or high end. I felt like I hadn’t used my Naked Ultimate Basics for a long time so that’s why I used it for this post.

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

4 thoughts on “Smoky Liner Eyeshadow Look | Urban Decay Naked Ultimate Basics

Leave a Reply

