Make Up

Matte Red Smoky Eye | Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Hey! So, for today’s post I was feeling an all over matte eye and I really wanted to play around with red shadows to create this look. In light of this idea, I obviously had to reach for my Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette as this is one of the only palettes that I own with a nice selection of reddy/pink tones. Enjoy!

red smoky 7red smoky 8

This was the final look. I was so pleased with how it turned out, much better than what I envisioned in my head anyway and it only took 3 shadows from the palette.

red smoky 1

As always, I started by priming my eyelids using my Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original and set using Tempera. For my crease colour, I started by buffing Raw Sienna in and above my crease using wind wiper motions and a fluffy blending brush. To deepen the crease for more intensity, I went in with Burnt Orange but didn’t blend this as far up my crease as the initial shadow.

For my lid colour, I used my finger to pack on Red Ochre and kept blending the crease until I was happy with how it turned out. You can leave it here if you’re happy with the look but I wanted the red to be more of a wine-red so I decided to use a pigment by Mac. Heritage Rouge is a gorgeous wine-reddy/purple toned pigment so went perfect with the look. To apply this, I used a flat shader brush and packed this onto the eyelid.

For my lower lash line, I initially went in with Red Ochre on a small precise brush and then buffed this out using Burnt Orange. To finish the whole look, I added my wing liner (which is completely your choice), mascara and falsies!

red smoky 2

As I said before, I was so pleased with how this look turned out. For the past few months, I’ve found myself in a rut with red shadows and they just weren’t working with me how I would usually like so this was a nice turn around!

red smoky 5

(If you’re wondering why theres a door leaning up against the wall, it is because my house is being redecorated and when I was taking this photo, the door had just been changed. As I am too weak to carry the door downstairs without injuring myself like usual, I was waiting for my dad/brother to come and help me take it. And yes, I did forget to put anything on my lips again, oops!).

If you’re after a good drugstore alternative for red eyeshadows, Makeup Revolution have just come out with a brand new palette called Ultra 32 Eyeshadow Palette Flawless 3 Resurrection (I think). I haven’t had a chance to try this out for myself yet but I have heard amazing things about it so definitely worth keeping a look out for!

That’s it for this post! I hope you liked the look and found it easy to follow. ‘Til next time.

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

 

5 thoughts on “Matte Red Smoky Eye | Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Leave a Reply

