Make Up

Testing Kylie Kyshadow Dupe | Eyeshadow Look

Hey! So, for today’s post I thought I would test a dupe product out. Kylie’s Valentines collection was stunning but I never managed to get my hands on anything (that and I couldn’t justify the shipping costs). A friend recently recommended this Flossy Sunflower palette to me, which is basically a exact copy of the colours in Kylie’s Valentines eyeshadow palette so I thought I would give it a go. Enjoy!

kylie 7

This is the palette itself. I believe Flossy Sunflower to be a brand in China (I may be wrong) and I ordered this palette from Aliexpress. I’m sure you’ve all heard of Aliexpress but if not then it’s basically where you can get replicas/fakes of brands and whatnot. Because of this, I ALWAYS do tests on my arms before applying anything to my face as you can never be 100% sure what’s in the products. When I receive the products, I swatch every single colour on both arms and leave them on for an hour or two, just to make sure they won’t damage my eyes.

When this came through the post, I couldn’t actually believe how similar it is to the real thing. I was so drawn into the pinky/orange/red tones in this palette as it is so different to anything I have in my collection.

kylie 5kylie 6

This was the look I came up with. I really wanted to play with the bright pinks and the bold colours in the palette. It actually turned out a lot better than I expected and it’s a perfect look for summer/festivals.

kylie

As always, I primed my eyelids using my Maybelline Anti-Age concealer and set using my powder. For my transition colour, I went in with the bright orange and buffed this using wind wiper motions and a fluffy blending brush. I blended this quite high up my eye as I wanted to create a gradient effect with the pinky shadows later. Using a smaller fluffy brush, I went in with the middle bright pink shadow and blended this into the crease but keeping it lower down than the initial shadow.

For a bit more definition, I used a tapered blending brush and went in with the deeper pinky/red shadow and softly blended this into the outer third of my lid.

Now onto the lid colour. I decided to use my real Kylie cream shadow in Rose Gold just to create that half cut crease effect, one of my favourite techniques to do. Using my finger, I then packed on the top middle pink shimmer shadow directly on top of that cream shadow just to tie the whole look together.

For my lower lash line, I ran a mixture of the orange and pinky shadows all the way along and then intensified with the deeper red/pink shadow. To open my eyes up a bit more, I used my NYX Jumbo Eye pencil in Milk to line my water line. I then applied my normal wing liner (which is always optional) and then finished off by adding mascara and falsies!

kylie 4

I am sorry for the lack of shade names, I don’t have the original Kylie palette and this one doesn’t have names so had to compromise! Over all, I’m really impressed with how the palette performed. I still need to play with it a bit more to create different looks to gain a full opinion but for a first impression, I’m happy with it so far!

kylie 1

So if you’re like me and didn’t manage to get your hands on the Valentines day collection then this may be an option. Just ALWAYS be careful when ordering from any site that ships from China or that you may believe to be fake!

That’s it for this post! If anyone would like a full post on the palette itself with swatches then just let me know in the comments below. 

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

