Make Up

I Heart Makeup Unicorn Love Palette | Tested

Hey! So, for today’s post, I created a look using the I Heart Makeup Unicorn Love palette that I reviewed and swatched in my latest post. As it’s been so hot and sunny in the UK recently, I decided to create an eyeshadow look using some of the brighter colours in the palette. Enjoy!

unicorn 4

This is the overall look (and it matches my dress which is a bonus) and I was actually so pleased with how it turned out. Half way through the look I kind of lost direction but I think it finished off well.

unicorn

As always, I started by priming my eyelids using my Maybelline Anti-Age concealer and set using Unicorn, the matte white shade. For my initial transition shadow, I went in with Flutter on a fluffy blending brush and buffed this lightly into my crease. To intensify the crease, I went in with Gallop, a muted purpley matte shadow and blended this directly over our initial transition.

For my lid colour, I went in with Mane, a gorgeous bright purple shadow, and packed this on as base shadow. As this shadow wasn’t as pigmented as I expected, I then decided to use Tale, a matte purple shadow with silver “sparkles” running throughout. I packed this over Mane using my finger and the pigmentation was so much better.

Going back to the crease, I decided I wanted the outer third to be more dramatic and to do this I went in with Horn, a dark purple-toned matte shadow, and packed this on before blending out. I then decided to brighten up the inner corner of my eye and I went in with a flat shader brush and Unicorn, leaving the centre just for that Tale shadow.

For my lower lash line, I mixed the transition shadows together and ran this all the way under to “smoke” out the look. I then wanted to make my eyes appear bigger so I decided to add NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk to my waterline. I obviously had to add my wing liner but this is always just down to preference. To finish the whole look off, I added my Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara and falsies!

unicorn 1

The lashes I always use are just a multi-pack that I always buy off Depop. As my natural lashes are beyond shocking and I’m yet to find a mascara that really helps, I like to wear lashes that still look natural. Don’t get my wrong, I love my Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara, but it still doesn’t do it for me like these lashes do. It’s true what they say, when you start wearing falsies, you can’t stop (for me anyway).

That’s it for this look! I Heart Makeup, again, didn’t disappoint. I did find that some of the shadows, such as Mane, didn’t translate onto the eyelids like they did when they swatch, but with a bit of setting spray and work, they do eventually build up. Other than that, I can’t really flaw this palette!

Thank you so much for reading!

rachael-louise-beauty-2

INSTAGRAM

15 thoughts on “I Heart Makeup Unicorn Love Palette | Tested

  1. Love how this look turned out! And I’m the same, once I started using false lashes, I just can’t stop! (Unless I’m having an extremely lazy but want to look decent kind of day) x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

